

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

- 1 JANUARY 1995: Austria, Finland and Sweden join the EU, increasing the number of member states to 15.
- 26 MARCH 1995: The signatory states of the Schengen Treaty implementation agreement (Belgium, Germany, France, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Spain and Portugal) abolish identity checks at internal Community borders.
- 26 OCTOBER 1997: Italy joins the Schengen Area.
- 1 DECEMBER 1997: Austria joins the Schengen Area.
- 1 MAY 1999: The Amsterdam Treaty enters into force.
- 26 MARCH 2000: Greece joins the Schengen area.
- 25 MARCH 2001: The Schengen zone is expanded to include Denmark, Finland, Iceland and Norway.
- 1 JANUARY 2002: The Euro is introduced as cash currency in the twelve member states of the European Monetary Union.
- 1 MAY 2004: Ten European countries join the European Union: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Malta and Cyprus.
- 1 JANUARY 2007: Romania and Bulgaria join the European Union. Slovenia introduces the Euro as its national currency.
- 25 MARCH 2007: The European Union celebrates its 50th anniversary.
- 21 DECEMBER 2007: The Schengen zone is expanded to include Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia and Malta.
- 1 JANUARY 2008: Malta and Cyprus introduce the Euro as their national currency.
- 12 DECEMBER 2008: Switzerland joins the Schengen area.
- 1 JANUARY 2009: Slovakia introduces the Euro as its national currency.
- 1 DECEMBER 2009: The Lisbon Treaty enters into force.
- 1 JANUARY 2011: Estonia introduces the Euro as its national currency.
- 19 DECEMBER 2011: Liechtenstein joins the Schengen area.
- 1 JULY 2013: Croatia becomes a member of the European Union.
- 1 JANUARY 2014: Latvia introduces the Euro as its national currency.
- 25 MAY 2014: Elections to the European Parliament.